What to do when you go blank during a public speaking engagement

Surviving a speech Catastrophe

Photo by Kane Reinholdtsen on Unsplash

Ever faced the dreaded combination of stage fright and an unexpected challenge?
Well, I have, and let me tell you, it involved a sneeze attack and a surprise speech.
As the head girl of my high school, I thought public speaking was a breeze – until one day in 9th grade.

The Speech Ambush:

Just the day before a school assembly, I was handed a speech to memorize. Simple, right? Not when you're battling a sudden dust allergy.
Cue uncontrollable sneezing – not the ideal prep for a speech. I popped anti-allergy pills like candy, but my nose had other plans.
It turned into a warm waterfall, and reading the speech made it worse. I became a master at reading through a runny nose.

Sleepless Night Drama:

Mugging up a speech was never my cup of tea, especially with a leaky nose. Despite high-dose medication, sleep eluded me.As the dawn approached, an exhaustion set in. Sleep-deprived, sniffly, and with puffy eyes, I had a choice, give the speech or face the wrath of my teachers. Duty called, and so did my need for sleep.

Photo by Krzysztof Hepner on Unsplash

On Stage:

Mic in hand, half-asleep, I began with confidence. But halfway through, I blanked out. Panic? Yes. The audience staring? Definitely. What did I do? I confessed. “None of this was my idea; blame the internet!”as I confidently said,further continuing the speech I deviated from the script, shared my perspective on Women's Day, and finished the speech my way. Applause ensued.

Photo by Hayley Murray on Unsplash

The Fallout:

Expecting praise, I faced a different reality. My class teacher scolded me for straying from the given lines.
While all these was happening, our political science teacher came to my rescue, my unexpected hero, praising my brilliance. As they argued, I made a swift exit, vowing never to memorize a speech again.

Conclusion:

So,my dearest reader, when life throws a speech and a runny nose at you, embrace the chaos. Who knows, it might just make you a hero in the eyes of one teacher and a rebel in the eyes of another. As for me, I'll stick to impromptu speeches – and tissues, always.

Liked this post ? Why not Follow and Subscribe to my profile so that you never miss out on my daily posts? C’mon it’s Freeeeeeeeee
You can subscribe from the link 👇
https://2000oishee.medium.com/subscribe

And my dearest reader, just to let you know YOU can of course follow me on Instagram by opening the link below👇 🤭

https://instagram.com/oisheechatterjee?utm_source=qr&igshid=ZDc4ODBmNjlmNQ%3D%3D

Instagram Id : 🟪 @Oisheechatterjee

--

--

Oishee Chatterjee đź’Ž || Blogger| Writer| Dreamer||

Welcome to my world of scribbled thoughts and musings! I am a passionate Lifestyle blogger, dedicated to sharing the essence of life through the art of writing.